Home >

free History eBooks

Page: 41-50 results of 39618
“Without Mercy reads like a John Grisham thriller.” ---David R. Dow, author of The Autobiography of an Execution On December 9, 1938, the state of Georgia executed six black men in eighty-one  minutes in  Tattnall Prison’s electric chair. The executions were a record for the state that still stands today. The new prison, built with funds from FDR’s New Deal, as well as the fact that the men were tried and executed... more...
This mesmerizing exploration of the most subtle, elusive, and effective form of power is a masterful analysis of civilization's greatest seducers, from Cleopatra to JFK, as well as the classic literature of seduction from Freud to Kierkegaard and Ovid to Casanova. Robert Greene once again identifies the rules of a timeless, amoral game and explores how to cast a spell, break down resistance, and, ultimately, compel a target to surrender. Presenting the... more...
For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land **One of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017** **One of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017** Beth Macy, author of Factory Man: "Remarkably nuanced...this book should be required reading." "Glass House’s subtitle...hints at the book’s difference from its best-selling predecessor. Alexander’s book is less personal, less tortured, a... more...
Focuses students on the story of American history.    America : Past and Present integrates the social and political dimensions of American history into one chronological narrative, providing students with a full picture of the scope and complexity of the American past. Written by award-winning historians, it tells the story of all Americans—elite and ordinary, women and men, rich and poor, white majority and... more...
In 1982, Tony West and Avery Brock made a visit to notorious Corpsewood Manor under the pretense of a celebration. They brutally murdered their hosts. Dr. Charles Scudder and companion Joey Odom built the "castle in the woods" in the Trion forest after Scudder left his position as professor at Loyola. He brought with him twelve thousand doses of LSD. Rumors of drug use and Satanism swirled around the two men. Scudder even claimed to have summoned a... more...
Without its once-booming livestock industry, Omaha would be a very different place. Although it was originally known for its legendary steakhouses, today's eateries exceed the influence of cattle. Out of a rich foundation of traditions like steaks with hash browns and mostaccioli, Reubens and South O dive bars grew a creative culinary community with a fiercely loyal following. Today, Omaha is a platform for nationally recognized chefs. Home to one of... more...
New Albany's historic homes boast unique histories and fascinating stories of those who inhabited them. Founded in 1813 below the falls of the Ohio River, the city was Indiana's most populous by the middle of the nineteenth century. Many leading citizens built grand mansions and family dwellings that beamed with prosperity and influence. The architectural legacy during these formative years continued into the early twentieth century and produced... more...
Part memoir, part micro-history, this is an exploration of the present through the lens of the past. We all know that the best way to study a foreign language is to go to a country where it's spoken, but can the same immersion method be applied to history? How do interactions with antique objects influence perceptions of the modern world? From Victorian beauty regimes to nineteenth-century bicycles, custard recipes to taxidermy... more...
This book completes a highly original and superbly illustrated two-volume survey of German naval camouflage and markings in the Nazi era. On first publication in 2012 the 1939-1941 volume was quickly recognised by warship enthusiasts and modelmakers as a major step forward in the understanding of a complex and much debated topic. It is already considered the standard reference, and this second volume is keenly awaited. Although a few crucial documents... more...
Start your engines and follow the backroads, the historical paths, and the scenic landscape that were fashioned by geologic Ice Ages and traveled by Big Thicket explorers as well as contemporary park advocates—all as diverse as the Big Thicket itself. From Spanish missionaries to Jayhawkers, and from timber barons to public officials, you will meet some unusual characters who inhabited an exceptional region. The Big... more...
Page: 41-50 results of 39618